Skip to main content


Students in Lawrence County, Alabama have many higher education and technical training programs available to them. There are currently seven post-secondary educational institutions within easy commuting distance from the county, as well as the Lawrence County Center of Technology in Moulton, Alabama. Lawrence County's school system has 14 public schools, covering elementary through high school, and three private schools.

Secondary Schools

Lawrence County schools offer low teacher-to-student ratios, averaging approximately 15 students per teacher. The county currently has 14 schools ranging from kindergarten to high school. The system recently went through a consolidation that resulted in the number of schools providing high school (9-12) classes being reduced from seven to four, resulting in more academic and extracurricular activities being made available to county students. Click here for more information about the Lawrence County School System.

Area public schools include:

  • East Lawrence Elementary (K-4)
  • East Lawrence Middle (5-8)
  • East Lawrence High (9-12)
  • Hatton Elementary (K-6)
  • Hatton High (7-12)
  • Hazlewood Elementary (K-8)
  • Moulton Elementary (K-4)
  • Moulton Middle (5-8)
  • Lawrence County High (9-12)
  • Lawrence County Career Technical Center
  • Mt. Hope School (K-6)
  • R.A. Hubbard School (K-12)
  • Speake School (K-6)
  • The Judy Jester Learning Center

Area private schools include:

  • Lawrence County Christian School
  • Liberty Christian Academy
  • Faith Christian Academy

Post-Secondary Schools

Lawrence County is within commuting distance to North Alabama’s leading four-year universities, including the University of North Alabama and the University of Alabama at Huntsville. Additionally, three two-year colleges are also located nearby.

Two-Year Colleges

  • Northwest Shoals Community College – Muscle Shoals
  • Calhoun Community College – Tanner
  • Wallace State Community College – Hanceville

Four-Year Colleges

  • The University of North Alabama – Florence
  • Athens State University – Athens
  • The University of Alabama at Huntsville – Huntsville
  • Alabama A&M University – Huntsville
  • Oakwood College – Huntsville

Technical Training

Residents of Lawrence County have many technical education and training opportunities to choose from. Within driving distance of the county, there are several technical colleges and two-year colleges offering technical degrees and training. Additionally, technical training is available through statewide programs such as the Alabama Industrial Development Training (AIDT) program and the Career Ready Alabama program.

Technical Education Institutes

  • Lawrence County Center of Technology - Moulton
  • Northwest Shoals Community College – Muscle Shoals
  • Calhoun Community College - Tanner
  • Wallace State Community College - Hanceville
  • Drake State Technical College – Huntsville
  • Virginia College - Huntsville
  • Alabama Industrial Development Training (AIDT)
  • Career Ready Alabama